The FA Cup League – The Oldest Football Competition in The World

FA CUP LogoThe Football Associations Challenge Cup (FA Cup) is the oldest association football competition in the world. Named after and organized by the Football Association, it is an annual knock-out cup competition in English Football, making it a favourite for sports betting.

The first cup was in 1871-72 and entry is open to all teams who compete in the Football League, the Premier League, and in Steps 1 to 5 of the FA National League System (only selected teams in step 6). Clubs of all standard, from the biggest to amateur village teams can compete.

Through many years the tournament has become known for the possibility of “minnows” (underdogs) to become the winners. These minnows eliminate the top clubs and could possibly win the cup.

The Football Association, English football’s governing body, was formed in 1863. ‘Organised football’ or ‘football as we know it’ dates from that time. The current holders are Arsenal, having beaten Hull City 3-2 in the 2014 final. This is Arsenal’s 11th FA Cup title, making them level with Manchester United for the greatest number of title victories in the history of the competition. Be sure to reap the benefits of the best football betting casinos for you by reading on.

Top Casinos That offer FA Cup Football Betting

Unibet logo
Ladbrokes Logo
888 Logo
£200 BONUS
£500 BONUS
£1500 BONUS

Format of The FA Cup League

  1. Qualifying round – These FA Cup rounds are regionalised to help with travelling. Certain higher up the league clubs do not have to participate.
  2. Thirds round onwards– The FA Cup starts being televised and takes place at the beginning of December. The fourth round draw is made in January, right after the results.
  3. Fifth round onwards – Made after the results of the fourth round fixtures. Only a few will be left.
  4. The Finals – Draw of semi-finals are held in mid-March.

Cup Final Statistics

Year Winners Runner Up
2011 Manchester United Stoke City
2010 Chelsea Portsmouth
2009 Chelsea Everton
2008 Portsmouth Cardiff City
2007 Chelsea Manchester United
2006 Liverpool West Ham United
2005 Arsenal Manchester United
2004 Manchester United Millwall
2003 Arsenal Southhampton
2002 Arsenal Chelsea

an image of the fa cup trophy

The Football Associations Challenge Cup Fun Facts

  • The FA Cup is the worlds oldest football competition
  • The FA Cup is 143 years old
  • Winners of the he Football Associations Challenge Cup are awarded with the opportunity to play in the Europa League
  • The only non-league team to have won the cup are the Spurs who won it in 1901
  • 71,000 people cam to see Manchester united
  • The White horse Final was in 1932 and the crowd rushed to the gates  resulting in a policeman and his white horse having to crowd the crowd back into the spectators areas
  • Leicester City have reached the final four times but have sadly never won
  • Chelsea’s Robert Di Matteo made history by scoring the fastest goal in Fa Cup history and was scored after only 42 seconds
  • Only one game has ever been played on Christmas and that was Linfield Athletic v. Cliftonville in 1888
  • The Most FA Cup victories title goes to  Manchester Utd with a total of 11 triumphs over their competitors
  • Bury finally beat Stoke in the 4th replay in 1954 resulting in the longest FA Cup tie lasting a whopping 5 games!
  • The BBC broadcasted the FA Cup final for the first time in 1927
  • The 2013-14 competition, with 737 entries, started with an Extra Preliminary Round on 17 August
  • The first side to attach their ribbons to the trophy as seen today were Tottenham Hotspur where this then became tradition.
  • Ashley Cole has the most winner’s medals – 7 in total from his time with Arsenal and Chelsea
  • Before 1882 football posts did not have a crossbar; so goals were accepted if they passed between the two posts at a reasonable height
  • The cup itself is decorated at the start of the game with ribbons from both teams. The loser’s ribbons are removed at the final whistle
  • In 2001 Tony Roberts was the second goalkeeper ever to score in an FA Cup game with a goal against Basingstoke Town.
  • n 1876 a total of three pairs of brothers played in the final; Francis and Hubert Heron for the Wanderers whilst the Old Etonians’ had Edward and Alfred Lyttelton, and Albert and Charles Thompson.
  • Jimmy Dunn Snr. and Jimmy Dunn Jnr. kept the FA Cup in the family with this father & son duo taking home the cup in 1933 with Dunn Senior playing for Everton and then again in 1949 with Dunn Junior for Wolves.

Unibet logo
Ladbrokes Logo
888 Logo
£200 BONUS
£500 BONUS
£1500 BONUS